Articles | Core Spirit


All Categories
16 articles
Famous Indian Festivals

Navratri is said to be the nine forms of Goddess Durga that represents different qualities of human beings – Shailputri, Brahmcharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandmata, Katyaini, Kaalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhatri. So everything controlle…

Hinduism and Mythology

Hinduism, which has millions of followers in India and around the world today, is one of the world's oldest religions. For well over 3,000 years, it has been accumulating the sacred stories and heroic epics that make up the mythology of Hinduism. Nothi…

Why You Should Chant-Om Namah Shivaya

Lord Shiva is known as 'Devadidev’, which means he is the god of gods. There is no beginning of him, and also, there is no end to him. He is the omnipresence and omnipotent form. He is one of the pillars of the Trinity. When Lord Brahma is the creator …

World Religions
Sects and Sectarian Movements in Hinduism

Time and again we have reiterated that Hinduism is not a religion but a group of religions, religious traditions, beliefs and practices.

The various traditions, ascetic movements and schools of philosophy within Hinduism, which can be categorized…

The quantum world view and vedanta

Science is the biggest enterprise that man ever created. Of all the living things on this planet, man is the only one that seems to have started thinking about how this world works. To understand that he started this new venture, called Science, which …

Why Is The Cow A Sacred Animal For The Hindus?

The cow is considered to be a sacred animal in Hinduism. Do you know why? Going through the scriptures of the Holy Book, Lord Krishna states in Srimad Bhagavad-Gita (Chapter 10, Verse 28): Dhenunam asmi kamadhuk, meaning, "Among cows, I am Kamadhuk, th…

Here is What They Don’t Tell You About Feminism and Sexuality...

Hindu mythology reveals that patriarchy, the idea that men are superior to women, was invented. The epic, Mahabharata, for example, refers to a time when there was no concept of marriage. Men and women were free to go to anyone, until it became importa…

Space and Time
Science and Spirituality: An Inextricable Link

The world today is going through a phenomenal metamorphosis that is affecting all. Be it climate change or economic downturns, political shifts or the rising discontent in certain parts of the world, everyone is affected. We need to come together as on…

World Religions
Scientific analysis of Shiva Lingam

Lord Shiva is known as Mahadev due to the instinct characteristics which he represents. The form in which Lord shiva is represented is called a Ling. Infact, Lord Shiva is the fundamental god. He is known as prajapati Shiva. There is no origin or form …

Was Krishna Born of a Virgin?

"The goddesses have stories to tell. One such story—far too long ignored—is that, in their original, unadulterated form, they were parthenogenetic. The word parthenogenesis comes from the Greek parthenos, 'virgin' more or less, and gignesthai, 'to be b…

Lifestyle and Behaviour
Yama: basic human values in Hinduism. Reincarnation and Karma


As a Hindu, I have to believe in and accept certain basic human values. If I can adopt and practice them, so much the better. These values are sometimes referred to as "Yama": some scholars say there are five Yama, otheres say there …

Religion in the Ancient World

Religion (from the Latin Religio, meaning 'restraint’, or Relegere, according to Cicero, meaning 'to repeat, to read again’, or, most likely, Religionem, to show respect for what is sacred) is an organized system of beliefs and practices revolving arou…

Mind & Body Intervention
Sivaratri – The Mystic Night

We conceive God as glory, as creativity and as austerity. Vishnu is glory and magnificence, Brahma is creativity force, and Siva is austerity and renunciation. You might have heard it said that God is the embodiment of six attributes of which renunciat…

Life Lessons from a Man Who’s Seen More Than Ten Thousand Deaths

Rooted in the hearts of many Hindus is the belief that if you breathe your last in Kashi (Varanasi) you attain what is popularly known as ‘Kashi Labh’ or ‘the fruit of Kashi’—moksh or “release from the cycle of rebirth impelled by the law of karma”.

The Three Jewels of Jainism

The three jewels of Jainism are also known as three gems and three refuges. They are different from the three jewels of Buddhism. They constitute the core practice of Jainism for both the ascetics and the laity. The three jewels are interdependent and …

Early History of Jainism

Jainism is considered one of the most ancient religious traditions of India. There was a time when Jainism was popular both in north and south India and patronized by many great kings of great repute, including Chandragupta Maurya. It is probably the m…

Related Practitioners
Related Services